Skip to content

Corn, It’s a Beautiful Food

September 20, 2010

If Jenna can talk about the glories of Nutella, I sure as heck can talk about some corn.

I think it’s ideal to get food when it’s in season (yes, it’s a can, I know) and what better time to buy some corn than during the fall when the leaves start changing colors, the pumpkins blanket the fields, apples sprout from the trees (I could go on and on..)

I love it when people decorate with corn stalks, ears of maize, assortments of gourds, the whole bit! Orchards and farms are great to visit this time of year because they just radiate with the harvest theme.

I tend to get off topic when gushing about fall. Back to the theme.

Ok, so corn isn’t exactly a fall food.

I believe it is usually harvested in the summer, varying from early to mid to late.

Although, the first day of fall is officially September 22, so can we make this a very late summer harvest?

Wait.

Why am I even worried?

Go out right now and buy yourself a bag if you know what’s good for you(r taste buds).

I’m not ashamed to admit it. These little treats are a beautiful thing. I’ve ventured so far as to almost order them online when you can’t buy them in season. I resisted because hot chocolate took over but what can I say?

 I love candy corns.

FYI: I believe the only way to eat them is one color at a time.

Everything in moderation, right? And it’s only fall for so long.

One Comment leave one →
  1. plainsgal permalink
    September 25, 2010 3:23 pm

    And don’t forget the mello cream pumpkins–another sure sign of fall!

Leave a Reply

