Skip to content

Weekend Revisited

September 19, 2010

I have to admit that I had such a great time this past weekend and I really hope each of you enjoyed yours as well. I am so thankful for my family and I realize God has truly blessed me. I’m fortunate enough to come from a large family, as well as have a sister only 18 months older than me that I am very close to. I’m even more blessed that she came to visit me this weekend!

Before we headed up to Boston we decided to give our legs a stretch and walk into town. We had some time to kill before my cousin would be around in the city ready for us, giving us plenty of time to take it easy on a Saturday morning.

I really, really like my college town. I forget how neat it is sometimes, though, because I see it all the time when I’m here. This hasn’t been the case recently because I was away last semester and then for the summer, but I’m always proud to show people around when they come to visit. It makes the town come alive even more because I’ll notice things I hadn’t last time, or I’ll relish it the way my guests do because it’s all new to them (or at  least not too familiar).

A big plus was we had perfect weather to walk around in and sightsee before our car ride!

After making our way through some of the quieter streets we noticed a lot of commotion going on downtown. I suspected it was just tourists since the town is really big on that, but lo and behold…

Look at what we stumbled into!

Newport’s International Boat Show!

Like most festivals, you don’t have to own the product or be a devoted fan to enjoy yourself.

And who are we kidding. A festival is a party, which means a good time in my book!

While my immediate family isn’t into yachts or the like, we do have a jetski and my Dad used to be really involved with ocean sports like wind sailing, his hobie cat, and more. We do have an uncle who is a member at our local yacht club on the Hudson River, though, and he owns a boat which we’ve been on a few times. But even if you don’t have a yacht or have ever been on one, the atmosphere of the festival was so energetic and welcoming.

 The people were all friendly, offered to take your picture for you in front of the vessels, and were more than happy to give you a tour of their boat.

The boats were all incredible and I think it’s very inspiring to see so many people come out, showcase what they love, and share their passions with strangers.

After walking around for a bit, my sister and I went into this store called Alex and Ani. Earlier that morning my sister saw an ad for it in a magazine and we made it one of our stops on our walk.

Alex and Ani is an eco-friendly fashion jewelry store. They sell a variety of jewelry pieces but they specialize in adjustable bangles that have embelishments and charms.

I love the idea of the charms, the bangles, the adjustability, and the variance. The store has some really interesting designs and charms, one for anyone if they like jewelry. I think the bangles would make great bridesmaids’ gifts!

Look at what my sister treated me to. She’s so generous and she has one of the biggest hearts out of anyone I know. She basically refused to get herself one unless I would let her get one for me.

My charm is the Seven Swords, symbolizing love, radiance, and strength. They represent the Seven Archangels (and I believe also the Seven Swords for the Seven Sorrows of Mary, Our Mother). My sister got the Eye of Horus, which symbolizes virility, light, and reason. Both of our charms are so inspiring. I think the concept behind the jewelry is so unique and creative!

Bangles on wrists, we headed back to my apartment and packed up our bags. The trip to Boston went smoothly and we had a fantastic night out. Unfortunately we didn’t go to where we initially planned on going, but I think all would agree we mastered the dance floor none-the-less!

Overall I was really blessed with a wonderful weekend. I spent time with family, laughed until my side hurt, sang my heart out, and danced until I couldn’t dance. another. move.

It was little simple things that made the days and nights so memorable and fun.

Plus, I got a pretty sweet bangle.

How did you spend your weekend? Did you make the most of it, whether it be a simple walk, breathing in some relaxation, or cooking a fall treat?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2010 2:16 pm

    Hey Natalia! What a great site you have going! Beautiful pics too. I have a twin sister and an older sister, so I totally understand your gratitude!!

    • Natalia permalink*
      September 20, 2010 3:16 pm

      Thanks, Joslyn! I adore your site and your layout (almost as much as I like my sister..shh!) haha

  2. September 21, 2010 10:47 am

    Great photos! I love seeing all the boats!

    I saw Lady Gaga this weekend in concert and then flew to Orlando FL for work! Busy busy! lol 🙂

    • Natalia permalink*
      September 21, 2010 6:36 pm

      Wow! What a weekend!

  3. September 23, 2010 4:54 pm

    Do you know where she got that bangle from? I love it!

    • Natalia permalink*
      September 24, 2010 12:49 pm

      We got them from Alex and Ani. They have a shop in Newport but you can get them online at their website, too. (Alexandani.com) They’re so neat!

Trackbacks

  1. KERF, IRL « A Side of Simple

Leave a Reply

