Skip to content

Dress for Success, Then Add a Flower or Two

September 14, 2010

As a Communications major, my school requires me to complete a semester-long internship. This gets added onto an already busy schedule of classes, exams, and day-to-day life (hm, what’s that?). The internship is an ideal opportunity to work in a field that interests you and that you may want to explore. It’s the students job to arrange and coordinate the internship but most advisors and teachers are more than happy to help and give you resources. I think so many students graduate without any real experience in the environment they want to work in. Classes teach you material, but working, really working and producing a product or service, is so different, right?

Anyway, this morning was the first day of my fall internship!

Needless to say, I was in a “dress for success” frame of mind.  I’ve mentioned here that I was originally introduced to the blog world after stumbling upon some fashion blogs. I love to see new fashion spreads and look at stylish magazines. The clothes they wear on Gossip Girl aren’t too bad either, except my college student budget isn’t quite the same as Miss Blair’s.

But in the words of fashion guru Tim Gunn, “Make it work.”

The office is “business casual.” Basically this means..well, what does it mean? Do you go business? or casual? Can you just tell me what NOT to wear? In any case it’s definitely best to be overdressed than under-dressed, especially if you are new or like me, an intern. To keep it basic, classy, and “business casual” I picked out one of my favorite dresses (I’m wearing it in my default, too!), a black one with flowers. I actually bought it in Ireland for 7 Euro.

Best.Dress.Purchase.EVER. 

Then I covered up with a black blazer I recently bought at Charlotte Russe. I don’t really “do” heals, so I went with basic flats.

Yes, I know I’m no Serena van der Woodsen, but I felt good.

Turns out it was the perfect outfit for my first day. There was a mix of clothing styles, some more casual, others more business, but I felt comfortable the whole day.

Like I said, my advice is to ask before hand and also to dress up rather than down. Most importantly make sure you’re comfortable. You don’t want to be tugging at your skirt, rubbing your blisters, or pulling up a shirt. Not that that’s ever happened to me…

What are your recommendations for the first day of work or an internship? Anyone had a bad “first day” experience?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2010 1:53 pm

    I love your outfit! I think it was the perfect decision. 🙂

    • A Side of Simple permalink
      September 15, 2010 4:16 pm

      Thanks, Tina!

Leave a Reply

