Skip to content

Tribute to Love

September 4, 2010

Yesterday my mother’s parents, my grandparents, celebrated their 64th wedding anniversary. You read that right. Sixty-four years of faithful, devoted marriage to each other. Even better is that they have been in love for seventy years. 

 

My grandfather insists it was a tale (as old as time? anyone?) of love at first sight. He spotted her in math class and knew he was going to marry her. 

My grandmother, young lady that she was, dropped her pencil and he jumped at the chance to come to her rescue. (We all know you can’t possibly do math without a pencil). She graciously, albeit shyly, accepted her pencil from the young boy who would win her heart. From then on she accepted his invitation to walk her home from school under the careful supervision of my late great-aunt. 

 

Their courtship began. The year was 1940. They were 15 years old. The conventional era did not leave much room for them to have time to spend with each other, but they enjoyed every moment they had together. The sweethearts were engaged at 18. 

A handsome pair if I may say so myself…

   

But the war happened. My grandfather became a pilot, my grandmother a nurse. Determined and in love, my grandparents spent years writing each other letters and went two whole years without seeing each other. When my grandfather was 21 they were married. It was his birthday and the happiest day of his life. 

Ten children and all-that-life-has-to-throw-at-you later, my grandparents insist that they are more in love now than ever. Their faith has kept them strong and they are role models for my whole family. I’m proud to say that my grandparents are a classic story of a man and woman who, through the changing times and war-torn atmosphere, let love happen, made love survive, and put their love in God’s hands.   

 

My grandparents are in Florida right now, but that doesn’t mean my mom didn’t make a lovely Lemon Meringue Pie (their favorite) in their honor. She used Land O Lakes’ recipe for Creamy Lemon Meringue Pie. The poor lighting does not do it justice. I didn’t have any because I don’t eat gluten (nor do I really like pie) but it got rave reviews and was enjoyed devored by many. 

 

Lemon Meringue Pie

Years ago when my grandparents’ relationship first began, things were different and from the sounds of it, quite a bit more romantic. But love can survive. For no particular reason their love story reminds me of The Last of the Mohicans. It’s set during the French and Indian War, but you don’t have to like learning about history to enjoy the movie, trust me. If you haven’t seen this movie, please go out and rent it now. It’s one of my favorites. 

I don’t want to say too much about it in case you haven’t seen it, but let me tell you if Nathaniel told me he would find me, I think my heart would stop beating. So good. I recommend it. The movie also reminds me of fall for some reason, so I think it’s a great time to watch it. 

Yesterday was a simple day to my grandparents, but what they have accomplished and lived through is far from simple. They are my inspiration especially when things look grey. 

   

Do you have any good love stories in real life? What’s one of your favorites when it comes to books or movies?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

