Skip to content

may day praise

May 1, 2011

Happy May!  

At Mass this morning the priest said during the homily a quote from someone and it really stuck a chord with me right away.

He said, “Preach the beauty and love and salvation of God all the time, but only use words when absolutely necessary.”  

 

After Mass I took a walk around town enjoying the most glorious day Newport has seen in a while (hello, warm spring weather, nice of you to join us in May!) and really meditated on the priest’s words and the meaning of them.

With the my face basking in the glorious warm sun, my camera clicking away at the beauty before me, and my heart opening up to whatever awaits in my future, I thanked God for letting me “just BE.” 

I hope these pictures of creation bring a smile to your face and that your weekend was filled with the simple joys of life like mine was.

From visiting with old friends, to barbecuing with new ones, from handing in one final assignment to beginning work on another, from rushing to Mass to walking in prayer afterwards, it was a productive weekend for my heart and soul.

And for that, I thank God.

______________

What are you thankful for in life right now? I’m thankful for my health and my good friends, both new and old, that I met throughout my college years. Quality over quantity has always been my preference when it comes to people and I’ve been blessed this year especially.

Name one summer or memorable activity that you participated in this weekend: BBQ season has officially begun!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2011 3:54 pm

    Your outdoors pics are gorgeous, especially that tree! WOW! I got to go for an outdoor run this weekend!! Summer is on the way!

  2. May 1, 2011 4:29 pm

    I am thankful for every day. Everyday I wake up with my health and that I get to spend with my friends and family is a good day.

  3. May 2, 2011 11:06 am

    I love the blossoms on the trees- we’re a little behind in MN (it was about 40 degrees yesterday), so I can’t WAIT!

  4. May 2, 2011 11:25 am

    I am thankful for my fiance’ who is my best friend, my sanity, the best hugger around.

    I drove around with the top down on my covertible on Saturday for the first time, woo hoo!

  5. May 3, 2011 4:53 pm

    Ah, beautiful post. :) I needed this lightening! This week has already taken a lot out of me.

    Glad you’re enjoying the beauty that is nature.

  6. littlehealthjunkie permalink
    May 3, 2011 5:13 pm

    I just found your blog and absolutely LuRVVVE it!! can’t wait to read more:)

  7. May 4, 2011 8:28 am

    Absolutely beautiful pictures!

  8. May 4, 2011 12:32 pm

    I’m thankful for my health, family, friends and overall happiness! I feel very blessed in life and thank God everyday for all He’s given me!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

